SB Energy filed its U.S. IPO registration statement on August 31, 2026, putting the SoftBank-backed power and data-center developer before public-market investors as demand for AI infrastructure expands. The filing reported a $3.21 billion net loss on $138.7 million of first-half revenue, while Nvidia committed $1.5 billion in a private placement at the IPO price. The company had not yet priced the offering, and its filing said it had no operational data centers. [1] [2]
The story developed further on September 15, when SB Energy disclosed plans to sell as much as $500 million of new shares to Japanese investors as part of the U.S. listing. The U.S. deal size remained undisclosed, and the latest verified disclosures did not establish a trading date. SB Energy is seeking to build facilities for customers including OpenAI, but its near-term revenue, financing and construction plans remain substantially linked to that company. [3] [5]
Key points
- The SEC registration statement was filed on August 31, 2026; the proposed sale would begin only after the registration becomes effective. [2]
- SB Energy reported first-half revenue of $138.7 million and a net loss of $3.21 billion, compared with $83.3 million of revenue and a $215.5 million loss a year earlier. [1]
- Nvidia committed $1.5 billion at the IPO price, while OpenAI received warrants valued at roughly $5.5 billion in the prospectus. [1]
- SB Energy said it had no operational data centers and no data-center revenue at the filing date; OpenAI was a major tenant, investor and source of concentration risk. [2] [3]
- The company later disclosed up to $500 million of shares for Japanese investors, but did not disclose the size of the U.S. IPO. [5]
What happened
SB Energy, which began its business in 2019 and is now headquartered in Redwood City, California, registered shares for a proposed Nasdaq and Nasdaq Texas listing under the symbol SBE. The S-1 identified the company as an emerging-growth issuer and said the public sale was expected to begin as soon as practicable after the registration statement was declared effective. Neither that filing nor the September 15 disclosure supplied a final price, share count or U.S. proceeds target. [2] [5]
Reuters reported that the company had roughly $439 billion of backlog and 8.8 gigawatts of data-center capacity contracted or under construction. [1]
Financial picture and funding structure
The headline financial contrast is stark. Revenue rose 66.4% year over year in the first half of 2026, but the net loss widened from $215.5 million to $3.21 billion. CNBC reported that the $138.7 million of revenue came mostly from SB Energy’s legacy energy business because the data-center segment had not yet generated revenue. That distinction matters: growth in the reported top line does not yet demonstrate that the newer infrastructure model is producing cash flow. [1] [3]
The financing structure also connects the proposed listing to strategic counterparties. Nvidia’s $1.5 billion commitment is to be made at the IPO price, so it is not a separate valuation benchmark. The prospectus also described roughly $5.5 billion of OpenAI warrants. Those instruments, together with the lease and equity relationships, could help fund development but also make the company’s prospects harder to evaluate independently of its partners. [1] [2]
The September 15 share sale to Japanese investors is a separate disclosed component of the broader transaction. SB Energy said the proceeds would support general operating costs for data centers, power generation and related infrastructure. The disclosure did not establish that the full amount would be raised, nor did it reveal the final size of the U.S. offering. [5]
Verified background and context
SB Energy’s strategy is to pair power generation with data-center development, addressing the electricity and site constraints that can delay AI expansion. In January, OpenAI and SoftBank said they would invest $500 million each in SB Energy for data-center and power infrastructure tied to the Stargate initiative. SB Energy also agreed to build and operate OpenAI’s previously announced 1.2-gigawatt site in Milam County, Texas. [4]
The S-1 describes a broader turnkey model: the company supplies the physical foundation around customer-owned compute, including land, power, fiber, water, building shells and internal mechanical and electrical systems. It does not currently provide compute-as-a-service, so customers bring their own racks and semiconductors. [2] This positioning gives SB Energy exposure to AI buildout without making it a chip designer or cloud-compute provider, but it leaves execution, permitting, financing and customer commitments central to the investment case.
One of the most advanced disclosed projects is the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus in Ohio. The filing says SB Energy leased the site to OpenAI for 20 years in August 2026, had broken ground on some work and was targeting operations for the first phase in 2028. That target remains conditional on regulatory approvals, financing, long-lead equipment, transmission and pipeline infrastructure, construction and commissioning. [2]
Why it matters
The proposed IPO would test whether public investors will value future contracted infrastructure before the facilities are operating. A large backlog can signal demand, but it is not the same as recognized revenue or completed cash generation. SB Energy’s own disclosures place the conversion risk in view: projects must move from contracts and construction into operating assets, while lease payments and financing arrangements depend on counterparties meeting their obligations. [1] [2]
The concentration around OpenAI is especially important. CNBC reported that SB Energy described itself as “substantially dependent” on OpenAI as both a tenant and equity investor, with near-term revenue, project-level financing and development plans linked to OpenAI’s performance. The relationship can accelerate construction and provide a committed customer, but it also means a change in OpenAI’s financial position, strategy or deployment schedule could affect SB Energy directly. [3]
What remains uncertain
The final economics of the listing remain unresolved. SB Energy had not disclosed the U.S. IPO’s size, price range, number of shares or first trading date in the verified September disclosures. The registration statement also remained subject to SEC effectiveness, so the proposed terms could change before marketing and pricing. [2] [5]
Execution risk is equally material. The Ohio project’s 2028 target is expressly conditional, and the company’s model depends on obtaining power, completing transmission and generation links, procuring equipment, securing financing and commissioning buildings. [2] A backlog figure therefore should be read as contracted or under-development potential, not as a guarantee of completed capacity or future earnings.
What happens next
The next formal step is for the SEC registration statement to become effective, after which SB Energy and its underwriters can set terms and market the shares. The company identified JPMorgan, Goldman Sachs, Morgan Stanley, Citigroup and Mizuho as joint lead book-running managers, and said it expected to list on Nasdaq and Nasdaq Texas under SBE. [1]
Subsequent disclosures should clarify the U.S. offering size, the allocation to Japanese investors, the treatment of Nvidia’s commitment and OpenAI’s warrants, and progress toward the Ohio and other campuses. Until those details are published, the verified account is a filing-stage IPO backed by powerful partners, not a completed public offering or an operating data-center business. [2] [5]



